All About ACCESS

Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State for English Language Learners

Each year, your child's English is measured using the ACCESS test. The goal of the test is for students to be able to demonstrate their acquisition of the English language which is measured by how proficient they are in 5 content areas which include:

  • Social and Instructional Language

  • Language Arts

  • Math

  • Science

  • Social Studies

They are also assessed in the 4 domains which include: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing.
This test allows students to demonstrate their level of proficiency of the English language in order for them to be successful in the mainstream classroom. Below is a series of links that will provide you with a comprehensive explanation. Please click on each title below to access the information.

  1. Part 1. My child is an English Language Learner

  2. Part 2. How is my child's language development supported at school?

  3. Part 3. How do I know if my child is making progress?